Candidates Set For Yankton City Commission, School Board Elections

The lists of candidates for the Yankton City Commission and the Yankton School Board elections are now complete.

There were some last-minute additions that I hadn’t heard were running. Maybe you hadn’t, either. Here is a little write-up on the candidates that will appear in Saturday’s Press & Dakotan

The lists of candidates for the Yankton City Commission and Yankton School Board elections scheduled for April 9 are now final.
Those vying for seats on both boards had to submit petitions by 5 p.m. Friday.
The City Commission has seven candidates competing for three seats. Each term is three years.
Charlie Gross and Brad Woerner will attempt to retain the positions they now hold. A third incumbent, Paul Lowrie, decided not to seek re-election.
The remaining candidates are Thomas Bixler, Brooke Blaalid, Chris Ferdig, Edward Gleich and Michael Schumacher.
The Yankton School Board will have four candidates for its two open seats.
Jim Fitzgerald is seeking re-election for another three-year term, while Chris Specht has chosen to end a long tenure on the board.
Other candidates for the seats are Duane “Butch” Becker, Sarah Carda and Wayne Wurth.  
The deadline for voter registration for the spring election is March 25.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s